Fostering Creativity

2 Mar

Long time no post.  I have been settling into my longterm sub postion and learning how IB works.  With this overwhelming task of learning PYP in in such a short time posting has taken a backseat.

We have been having fun in Pre-K and using our creative minds.  I recently came across a large cardboard box just sitting in our staff room.  No one was using it so I snagged it for my classroom.  I wrote in my lesson plans for my students draw pictures of what they wanted to create with the box.  It just so happened that on that same day we went to the library and the librarian picked out the book Not A Box by Antoinette Portis to read to my students.  It worked out fantastic!  After the library we went back to the class and the students each drew their picture of what they wanted to create  with the box.  Being 3 years old sometimes we don’t understand what they have intended to draw, so my TA and I went around and recorded what each student had drawn.  Here are a couple images of their drawings.

Big Shark

Big Shark

House

House

Tent

Tent

I decided to create a house for the library that could also act as a puppet show stage.  This was inspired by something I found on SheKnows Parenting.  I put it together and the students decorated it with paint and glitter.  They had quite a bit of fun.

Decorating

Decorating

Decorating

 

It got a little messy…

Decorating

 

The next day I placed it in the library section of our room as a place for them to read.  It was a popular area all day!

Reading

 

Who knows how long this little house will last, but I know they will enjoy their reading time while it is there!

2 Responses to “Fostering Creativity”

  1. Gillian Howell March 2, 2013 at 12:31 pm #

    That is one cool box! I’m glad you posted a picture of it because it is much bigger than I was imagining. Nice project for this age group – I’m not surprised they wanted to stay in the box as much as they could. You could make lots of fun musical games with a box like that (jumping up on certain musical cues, going out, going around, going back in…).

    • msabbymoore March 3, 2013 at 3:21 am #

      Thank you Gillian! That is an awesome idea. I will have to try it soon.

Leave a Reply

